Mommy Needs a Grace Day

If you’ve read my “About Me” page, you know I am working on two things… how to be more gracious, and how to not strive for perfection, but rather “better than before”. The Perfection Demon is out to get me today, which, in turn, has me struggling with the “grace” attempt. Unfortunately, my kids are taking the brunt of it.

This has been a rather trying week, in that I have near constant low back pain (let’s hear it for 3rd pregnancies!), we cloth diaper our Middle and our clothes washer stopped working (a $180 fix), and I have not one, not two, but THREE tag/yard sales to prepare for in the coming month. I have been blessed with incredible friends who have come over to help me ready my junk  stuff  treasures for the tag sale this weekend, a wonderful neighbor who knocked on my door at 6:41am to hand me a key to use her washer and dryer while she is at work today, and a talented friend/Chiropractor who now has me on the books for tomorrow afternoon.

I know I will make it through this crazy week, if I just try to have things better than before, and not perfect. I’ve loaded my car with the necessary tag sale stuff, which didn’t help with the back pain but has my garage looking better than before. I may not have done laundry for the past 3 days (which is a lot when you cloth diaper, have 2 kids, 2 dogs, and only enough maternity underwear to last a few days), but the repairman is set to be here any minute now, so things are better than before. 

I started my day by releasing the fact that my Middle woke up at 6:15am because my awesome neighbor alerted my Early Detection System (i.e. The Mutts) when she tapped gently on the door. I am releasing the want to have all of my  junk  stuff  treasures ready to go by tomorrow, since many things will be better off being sold at the following sales. I am releasing the pain of having to pay $180  $140 (yay for asking for discounts!!) for a $60 Thermistor (It’s a real thing… I looked it up.), a part that we had replaced a year-and-a-half ago.

Instead of those things taking over my life today, I am going to make a conscious effort to Respond, not React to the things my kids need today. The material “needs” in my life have been released. Now it’s time to focus on the important needs: my kids, my sanity, my health.  I am releasing my frustration over the more-whining-than-talking that the Middle Kid is doing because I hope it means an easy nap. I am releasing my anger over my Big Kid bossing my Middle Kid around, perpetuating the more-whining-than-talking that Middle is doing.

Pray for me. This is no easy task.

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

