The Money’s Run Out, But You Still Gotta Eat…

We’ve ALL been there. Even with budgeting as well as we do, if I try a new recipe that takes more ingredients than normal or a more expensive ingredient (which I try to stay away from or omit the expensive part in general), the money can some times run out before I’m ready for it to. So, what are my “living off the land” staples?

I can almost always make the following meals with what’s in my fridge, freezer, and pantry. They are cheap. They are basic. But they also sustain you (and taste pretty good to boot!)

Breakfast

  • Whole Grain Cereal (It’s usually Cheerios in our house)
  • 2 Eggs (fried, boiled, or scrambled)
  • Oatmeal
Lunch
  • Cheese Quesadilla
  • PB&J
  • Black Bean Tostada (Fry the tortilla in a pan first, then blot to remove excess oil. Sprinkle shredded cheese, black beans tossed with cumin, a little salsa, and shredded lettuce if you have it)
Dinner
  • Brinner
  • Shepherd’s Pie (ground turkey, frozen corn, frozen peas, a can of diced tomatoes, and garlic mixed together with mashed potatoes and cheese on top.)
  • Tuna Melts (on toast or english muffins.)
  • Tacos
  • Sauteed Chicken and some veggie (in summer months I make it a grilled chicken salad and toss whatever veggies I have left over from the week in it)
  • Pasta (I like penne with ground turkey.  For a healthy addition to the sauce, I sometimes add frozen chopped spinach.)
  • Pasta salad (Especially good if I have leftover chicken! Pasta, Italian dressing, mayo, cubed cheese of your choice, shredded chicken, and whatever veggies you have. If you make a whole box of pasta, you have food for a week!)
I could easily feed my family on this menu for under $50 a week, but my taste buds get bored. The Hubby is a creature of habit and could sustain on Pasta Roni if I let him.
What are some of your favorite money’s-run-out-but-I-still-gotta-eat dishes? Leave a comment on the blog so we can all benefit from your wisdom! 😉
One thought on “The Money’s Run Out, But You Still Gotta Eat…

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

