Menu Monday XP

This is an Extended Play of my Menu Monday. That’s right folks, I’ve planned a MONTH of meals for my family and am SO excited to see how it works out and if it saves me any money and trips to the store! I’ve done a month at a time before and found that I got bored with the meals I had planned, but I’m pretty stoked on this month’s meals.

Once I post my menu (and some links for recipes if I have them online), I’ll do another post about HOW I made my month-long menu.

July 1-7

  • Picnic with the kids: mini ham sammies, fresh fruit salad, cheese chunks, pickles, and a Slip n’ Slide. Could there be a better summer evening??
  • Queso Fundido : I used mild Italian Sausage so it wouldn’t be too spicy for the kids. I served it like a soft taco. Interesting flavor. I’ll make it again.
  • Bucket-Style “Fried” ChickenKFC’s got nuthin’ on me! I only had mesquite seasoning, so I used that instead of Tex-Mex. I served it with corn on the cob, corn bread, buttermilk biscuits, and honey butter. I made WAY too much chicken though.
  • Salmon Cakesoh.em.gee. AH-MAZING. I tried to use canned salmon but thought it looked disgusting so I wrapped a piece of salmon that I had in my freezer in foil and baked it at 350* for 20 minutes in a foil packet and crumbled it. Then I premixed everything but the panko last night, using half mayo and half plain yogurt for the amount of mayo it called for. Then I added the panko as I was waiting for the oil to heat. It took about 4 minutes per side and I got 9 decent sized cakes out of this recipe. It was phenomenal and very filling. And apparently, they reheat in the microwave well. The Hubby will have to test out that theory tomorrow. I also whipped up a sauce with mayo, “Sunset Herbs” from Penzey’s, lime juice, and shallot salt and drizzled it over the cakes and a bed of fresh spinach. Seriously. SO good.
  • BBQ Pork Sandwiches: A meal from my Freezer Group. I’ll probably make a coleslaw to serve with it.
  • Leftovers: as it stands, I have Fundido, Chicken, and Salmon cakes left. Fend for yourselves, family!
  • Taco Salads with Crockpot Salsa Chicken
July 8-14
  • Pizza Night with friends: Of course, we’re buying Papa Murphy’s and using a coupon to keep it budget friendly 🙂
  • Broccoli and Spinach Quiche: I’ve used this quiche recipe dozens of times as a basic quiche and I omit/substitute/add as I feel the spirit move me. Hopefully this version is good, since I made it for my freezer group! I often serve my quiche’s with a large green salad, but since this one is so veggie-heavy, fresh fruit might be a good alternative.
  • Crockpot Chicken Tortilla Soup: I’ve made things from this website before with good results. I find our family is similar to hears in what we like to eat, so I take her reviews seriously.
  • One Pan Chicken Meal: Sounds easy enough.
  • Cross-Rib Pot Roast: Yes, I’m making pot roast in July. I have the meat, it needs to be eaten. I’m on a budget. I’m praying for overcast that day 😉
  • Shepherd’s Pie:  Another Freezer Group meal.
  • Crockpot Tilapia: My family goes crazy for fish, and I go crazy for a meal that takes very little work. Family, meet Crockpot.
July 15-21
  • Chicken Caesar Salads: Pretty self explanatory, right? I might go REALLY crazy and serve it with garlic bread. HOLD ME BACK!
  • Lawnmower Tacos: Yet *another* Freezer Group meal. Word on the street is that this is a HUGE hit with families and that we just may find ourselves unable to stop eating it. I can’t say I’m not looking forward to that. I’ll have Tums on hand.
  • Saucy Tilapia Packets: I know, I have Tilapia on the menu just 3 days before this, but let’s consider it testing the Hubby’s statement “I could eat fish 7 days a week”.
  • Stuffed Shells: Freezer Group Meal
  • Cheesy Baked Enchiladas: New recipe, but I’m still searching for the *perfect* enchilada recipe. My family loves cheese, so I thought this would be a good one to try out.
  • Veggie-loaded Chicken Fried Rice: The kids go coo-coo for rice and fried rice is always a good way of making them eat their veggies while getting the rice too. Suckers.
  • Rancho Luna Chicken: This is a Freezer Group Meal. It’s basically chicken marinating in some seemingly delicious goodness. Not really sure how to serve it, but it very well may go on top of a salad in a “Build Your Own Salad” adventure night.
July 22-28
  • Mexican Lasagna: Freezer Group Meal. Seriously. If you don’t have a Freezer Group, start one.
  • Nameless Dill Salmon: Still looking for a great name to dub this Salmon. “Dill Salmon” just doesn’t do it justice.
  • Oven Baked Chicken Parmesan: Nothing to say here, except YUM.
  • Beef Fajitas: I got a couple skirt steaks for cheeeeeeap a few weeks back and I’m breakin’ those suckers out for a quick, yummy, and summery dish.
  • Ground Turkey BLT Sliders
  • Spicy Tuna Melts: I have no idea where I got this recipe from, but it’s easy and has so much flavor! I use 2 cans of albacore tuna, a dollop of horseradish, a squirt of Worcestershire, and a dollop of mayo and mix. I pre-toast english muffins (so they don’t get soggy in the oven under the tuna mix), and put tuna, sliced tomato, and shredded cheddar on top (in that order) and bake at 350* for about 10 minutes. I usually serve it with fries and a salad.
  • Penne in Cream Sauce with Sausage: Oh, Freezer Group, how I love thee… let me count the ways…
July 29-31
  • Oven Baked Chimichangas: smear ’em with sour cream and guac if you don’t like the idea of a “healthier” chimichanga.
  • Ritzy Frittata: I just like to say “free-ta-ta”, and a Ritzy Free-Ta-Ta is better than the kind that like to slum it.
  • Black Beans and Kielbasa: I’m trying this recipe out for to cook for my Freezer Group, since I am making pork recipes for August.
Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

