You’re Not Alone

Have you ever gotten that down-in-the-dumps nobody-likes-me-everybody-hates-me-guess-I’ll-go-eat-worms feeling?

There is hope.

Our message at church this summer is focused on the book of Phillipians and has looked, so far, on the topic of joy. There is joy in numbers, even when you’re having a down-in-the-dumps nobody-likes-me-everybody-hates-me-guess-I’ll-go-eat-worms day week month year. You could feel so totally alone, sitting surrounded by a roomful of people, and have a hard time feeling the joy in numbers. Sometimes, it has the opposite effect!

Maybe you’re sitting in the wrong room with the wrong people.

I grew up singing in bands and choirs. Being a part of an ensemble is just who I am. (Maybe that’s why I keep having babies! The Hubby is hoping for a football team, I’m hoping for a Jazz Trio). There is something so powerful about being a part of something that yields bigger results than you could on your own.

Enter Congregational Singing.

Two weekends ago, after our pastor had spoken about feeling alone in a room full of people, we went into our “response time”. Read: Singing and Communion. I happened to be Prayer Team that week and stood on the side of the auditorium for those people in need of prayer (like the name of the team didn’t give that away….). I was struck by the singing, especially the part of the song that the Worship Team (we like teams at our church… Worship Team leads the music. They rock.) takes a step back from their instruments and microphones and the voices of God’s people can be heard singing and glorifying Him in unison. Now, I’ve been known to say “all good songs have a key change”, but that crowd singing as one? Gets me every time… (Well, not every time… It should be well placed, not just because a rockstar you overpaid $150 for nosebleed tickets forgot the lyrics).

If you feel alone, and we’ve all been there, get thee to a Church and listen. God can bring every kind of person together in a room, and even if they are the most tone-deaf being on the planet (you know who you are. It’s ok. God gave you other talents), make them sound like God’s angels. It’s almost like He knew what He was doing.

You aren’t alone. You are a part of something so much bigger and beautiful than just yourself.

Besides, I don’t know from experience, but I’m guessing worms don’t taste very good. (and don’t tell me “they taste like chicken”). It’s almost like He knew what He was doing.

God is one smart dude.

 

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

