Teachy, Not Preachy

In recent weeks, I’ve found myself putting the kibosh on posting because I’ve been told I am preachy by someone who I value highly in my life, but I don’t always feel *gets me*.  Here’s the thing…

My heart is TEACHY, not PREACHY. 

I can’t say that being called “preachy” didn’t hurt. It’s affected how I view myself and has changed how I feel called to spread The Good News. But it’s not from God. It’s not the Truth. It’s not who I am. God knows my heart, and I take a great deal of comfort in that.

When I think about the reasons I started this blog, it was to share my heart. To share my challenges. To share my evolution as a person, as a mother, as a friend, as a Christ-follower. It’s never been to make people feel as if they are less that me, or worse, that they think *I* think I am more than them (did you follow that one?).

I pray, daily, for those that don’t *get it*, that they may find the same direction that I’ve felt my life being led. I can’t describe it any better than that. I’m not forcing the direction my life is taking. I’m enjoying the ride of being guided by the Holy Spirit. I believe, with my whole self, that if you allow the Holy Spirit to work through you and in you, you can and, most importantly, WILL find joy.

I’ve come to realize that my worst days are the days I stop talking to God. I put more of myself in the world than I do my commitment to Him. I act prideful. I act selfishly. Knowing that the Father loves me despite these failures, humbles me.

If anyone has ever made you feel less than you are, I say this to you: You are beautifully and wonderfully made. God spoke you into motion, and He is the only one you need to answer to. He loved you so much that He gave His only son, nailed to a tree, donning a crown of thorns. His perfect creation. *wow*. There are no words, especially once you’ve experienced the joy of parenthood, that can describe what that sacrifice is like. He did that. FOR YOU.

If you are reading this and haven’t accepted Christ into your life, think on that last paragraph. I’m not saying fall to your knees in forced prayer (like I could have that effect on you or something… *pshaw*), but really try to conceptualize what that sacrifice could mean, even for those intellectuals out there.

And please know, the tongue is a weapon that can be used for good or for evil. Which do you use it for?

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

