A Month of Thanks

Why do we need Valentine’s Day to tell our loved ones how we feel? Why do we need Mother’s and Father’s Day to say “thanks for being a great parent!”? Why do we need St. Paddy’s Day to drink Guinness and eat Corned Beef? Why do we need Thanksgiving, and the month of November to realize we have so much to be thankful for?

WE DON’T!

Not only am I taking part in NaBloPoMo (man, it’s a PITA to write that out!), but I’m posting something I am thankful for every day on my small business page on Facebook. When I think of things I am thankful for, I am so overwhelmed with things that come to mind that I am going to start a new segment:

365 Thanks

Daily (there is that word again!), starting January 1, 2012, I am going to post something I am thankful for. I would love for you to comment with something you are thankful for! Even better if you have a blog and try to do the same thing! If you participate in 365 Thanks, feel free to link back to your posts on my comment section! Let’s start a movement of Thanks!

I’m curious to see if it’s hard for me on the days I’m feeling oh-woe-is-me. Honestly, I’m hoping that even on those dark days, I’ll be able to stop for a minute and see that the day is fleeting and mercies are new every morning.

Until the new year hits, I’m going post about my thankfulness for the month of November. I have to play a little catch up here on the blog!

Day 1: I’m thankful for three curious and bright daughters!

Day 2: I am thankful for gummy baby grins.

Day 3: I am thankful for friends that make a really cool opportunity a possibility!

Day 4: I am thankful for God’s timing. He is constantly taking care of His children, even if they don’t recognize it.

What are you thankful for today?

3 thoughts on “A Month of Thanks

  1. What am I thankful for? The list is endless – truly. I am most thankful for the gracious God I serve. He has allowed me to spend my days with my sweet husband as He didn’t decide it was a good idea to take him home last November when He had every reason to. I am thankful that my son is a better person, parent and friend than I. Every parent hopes that their child will exceed their hopes. Mine did … in spades. I am thankful for my daughter-in-law (I hate that term so I am calling her my “daughter-in-love” because she is the gift God gave to not just my son but to me). I am unbelievably grateful for my grand-girls. It is hard to fathom what life would be without them – and the best part is watching your child be a parent (I giggle everytime there is a challenge!). Thank you Katie for giving thought to gratitude. We live is a world of “I want mine” and it’s very easy to be overwhelmed by it all. Truth be told we should all be on our knees thanking the One who makes it all worthwhile. I love you with all my heart. xoxo

  2. I’m thankful for late night conversations with my man. Thankful that I was willing to turn off the tv and listen to him, and he to me. Thankful for baby #4 in the works who is forcing us to re-evaluate the LEO life and pursue other opportunities with mindfulness; not just scraping by but doing what we can to make a better life for our family.

    Would your awesome opportunity have anything to do with your OWN interview?! I hope it went well, and would love to hear about it! BTW, I was praying for you in solidarity yesterday as bedtime at our house and a husband on OT was very far from home. Hope your day went ok!

    • #4?? That’s awesome! Congratulations!

      My day went better than I expected! I had a friend come watch Little while I was on my interview and it was nice to have an hour to catch up with her!

      I’m definitely finding my groove with the 3 kids. I thought, for the first time yesterday, that I hit that point of “what was life like before?” and realized I was happy with that!

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

