Cooking Without a Net

(ok, so I, obviously, haven’t kept up with NaBloPoMo. I’m letting it go. I think I’ve got my blogging mojo back)

I’m a hybrid.

No, I don’t get eerily quiet under 5 MPH (just ask The Hubby. I tend to clod around the house).

No, I don’t go twice as far on one bowl of oatmeal (since I obviously don’t ingest gasoline) as my conventional counterparts. (unless you eat that yucky instant oatmeal in the packets like The Hubby does. You know that doesn’t count as oatmeal, right?)

As far back as I remember, my mom has always just opened cans and dumped them together to make dinner. As a working mom, getting dinner on the table in a cost effective and timely manner was the goal. (*disclaimer* My memory of her cooking style might be skewed by my dad’s style)

My dad liked to set things on fire flambe. I don’t have a single memory of him cooking that doesn’t involve 12 spices, an expensive cut of meat, and/or a bunch of French terminology (which would not only show off his cooking skills, but also his fluency in the language of loooooove).

Me? I’m a hybrid.

I’m not a bad cook. The Hubby’s distaste for canned veggies has made unlike my mom, and our budget makes me unlike my dad. However, I love to put something on the table that was thrown together on a budget and a whim (even though it’s been planned for weeks in advance), but that impresses my family.

I call it “cooking without a net”.

I have a basket FULL of recipes to spark my interest, but when it comes down to it, I don’t follow the recipe. Add horseradish here, omit mushrooms there. Pinch the salt, pinch the pepper, shake the cumin, squeeze the mustard. So, when people ask me to share a recipe, I typically don’t have one for what I actually cooked.

So, I introduce you to my new segment:

Cooking Without a Net

I’ll share what I’m making and how I made it. No promises if it comes out the same for you 😉

Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole

First, I made Stove Top stuffing as directed and let it sit, covered, until I was ready for it.

I mixed cubed chicken (about 1.5 cups), cubed ham (about 1 cup), cubed Swiss cheese (about 8oz), a can of cream of chicken soup, and about 1/2 cup of milk in a casserole pan (until well mixed).

I put the Stove Top Stuffing on top. I’m guessing I’ll cook it, covered, for 45 minutes at 350. Green beans on the side.

To freeze it, I would put the meats, cheese, and soup in a freezer bag and freeze flat. When you go to eat it for dinner, defrost and make the stuffing right before putting it in the oven.

3 thoughts on “Cooking Without a Net

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

