CWOAN: Black Bean Side

We’re having some friends over for a “BBQ” (cuz “broil-a-que” doesn’t sound as good, but is really what we’re doing on this rainy day), but we’re totally at the end of our budget, so spending extra on some snacks is totally out of the question! I just shopped from my freezer to concoct a delicious (and appropriate) side dish to serve with the Carne Asada and Pork Carnitas soft tacos I’m serving (yay for having those in my freezer too!).

Everything in this “recipe” is stuff I had on hand, and aside from the pico de gallo, I normally do have on hand!

No Net Black Beans

1.5 cups cooked black beans (from dried beans I cooked and put in the freezer)

1/4 cups pico de gallo (you could use salsa if you had it on hand)

1/2 onion, diced

1 tbsp veggie oil

1/2 cup frozen corn

1/4 cup green onions (I have them frozen in my freezer in a jar. Thanks Pinterest!)

Cumin to taste

Salt to taste

 

I heated the oil first, then sauteed the onions on medium heat (about 5 minutes). Then I dumped the beans, pico, corn, green onions, cumin, and salt in the pan and let the flavors meld for about 5 minutes on low, stirring occasionally.

It’s delish, and the perfect side for our meal today!

 

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

