Recipe Review: Roasted Balsamic Glazed Beets

On Monday night, I made the Peppercorn Pork Tenderloin and the Roasted Balsamic Glazed Beets. I made them in the hopes that I wouldn’t be the only one enjoying them!

The Hubby came home from work and said “man, it smells SO good in here!”. I was cautiously optimisic.

A beet was the first thing Middle put in her mouth when she got to the table. I was cautiously optimistic.

Big ate all of hers, but I’m fairly certain it was only for a candycane.

These beets were really good. I roasted them (about a pound) for 1 hour and 45 minutes (and making myself not laugh at the original recipe that tells me to roast them depending on how old they are. Gee, I forgot to ask the grocer when they were harvested! Next time… this time I took my chances).

Peeling them was a small pain, but I decided to stop being so Type-A about it and basically peel it like I would an apple, losing a little of the “meat” as I went.

I had made the glaze earlier in the afternoon and let it sit on the stove, off the heat, until we were ready to serve it. I found myself getting annoyed that it wasn’t thickening up, but I didn’t want to ruin it, since I was using the last of my balsamic! So, I was giddy when I went back about an hour later and it had glazed up really nicely! I poured it over the beets in a Pyrex, covered them, and stuck them back in the oven, just to reheat, while the pork rested.

The Hubby only ate one bite (“WHAT?!? I tried them!”)

Middle only ate the one bite (even after the candy cane bribe. Those bribes never work with her. Any other suggestions?)

Big thoroughly enjoyed… her candy cane.

And I bought more beets yesterday 😉

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

