Freezable February: Stuffed Bread

I made stuffed bread for dinner last week, and I have to say, I was worried that it would be weird. I mean, bread stuffed with meat and cheese (yum), and put in a crockpot to cook? It had disaster written all over it!

But this was GOOD. And I can foresee SO many different  options with this sucker! I chose to stuff my bread with deli ham and swiss cheese and I made a honey mustard sauce (just dijon and honey mixed together) to slather in between the bread pieces.

To make your own stuffed bread, buy a loaf of bread that will fit in your crock pot, and slice it, but be careful to NOT cut all the way through! I accidentally did on the ends of the bread, and the butts suffered for it when cooked.

Then you stuff it with whatever deliciousness your family likes (heck, you could even do a different kind of sandwich for each person, if you wanted!

At this point, I wrapped it in foil and tossed it in the freezer because I wanted to test out how it defrosted and heated for my freezer group. 

I had the Hubby take it out around 11am and I put it in the crockpot on LOW for 4 hours at 1pm.

Here’s the trick to heating it: put balls of tin foil in the bottom of the crockpot and put 1/2 a cup of water in the pot before you put the bread in. I only for 6 or so racquetball sized balls in there, and I easily could have gone for 6 more to keep the bread from falling in the water that was steaming it. Also, I suggest you put strips of foil under the loaf, lengthwise, so you have little handles to pull the bread out with. Lesson learned.

This was super good. The flavor was great. The bread was moist (though mushy in some places because of it touching the water a little), and the cheese was melty, which is always good. The general consensus was that it should have had more “stuffin'”, but it was my first attempt, so I was afraid it would explode or something.

I’m thinking a roast beef with a horseradish mayo and some smoked cheese sounds good… Hmmmm… stuffed bread….

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

