I’ve fallen, and I can’t get up!

*disclaimer*

I’ve posted before about the ebbs and flows of my blogging. When I feel overwhelmed, I stop blogging. When I feel disconnected, I stop blogging. When I feel depressed, I stop blogging. When I stop taking care of myself, I stop blogging.

But blogging HELPS.

It’s a vicious cycle.

*There. Now, back to the good stuff*

We’ve upped our food budget since getting out of debt. It’s nice to have some wiggle room, and to be able to buy a bottle of wine if I’m so inclined. That was a big ol’ luxury while we were in the climb.

But my pantry is full of things that aren’t the best for us. My kids constantly ask for “Pooh cookies”, which drives me batty. The Hubby eats Pasta Roni for lunch, which drives me batty. I feel sluggish and guilty when I’ve binged on icky stuff, which drives me batty.

And it’s all my fault.

I do 99.9% of the grocery shopping. I buy the Pooh cookies, the Pasta Roni, and the icky stuff. Sure, those things taste good (well, except for the Pasta Roni. Can I get an “amen”??), but they are NOT what our bodies need to grow and thrive! Even if I get Pasta Roni for $.72/box, or a $10 container of Pooh Cookies from Costco last us a month, it’s still money being spent on things that don’t fuel our bodies.

So, I’m trimming the fat. I’m focusing on the health aspect more than the cost aspect (within reason. We still have our set food budget. That won’t change). A friend of mine has lost a significant amount of weight by changing what and how she eats. I called her and took her to a cup of Iced Tea so I could pick her brain about easy changes we could make that would up the health factor in foods we already eat.

I laid it all out. I didn’t want to bit off more than I could chew and have to gut my pantry and fridge to do this. I wanted to stay in budget. I didn’t want to scare my family by changing everything overnight! I wanted to still enjoy “comfort foods”.

She gave me some great ideas to ease my family into healthier eating, including a recipe for a healthified (my computer says that’s not a word. I beg to differ) Biscuits and Gravy (a family favorite). Once I stop at the health food store for some spelt flour and chicken thighs go on sale, I’m putting it on my menu. If all goes well, you’ll be seeing a recipe on here!

I would love to hear your healthiest, family friendly dish! Leave a comment!

 

 

2 thoughts on “I’ve fallen, and I can’t get up!

  1. Here is a take on healthy Top Ramen: we all love it and the official recipe title is “Greens and Beans” We use angel hair pasta, tossed in the following base.

    Saute 1-2 cloves of garlic (depends on how much you like), add a package of thawed, frozen spinach, then a can of cananeli beans (white beans, rinced well), and a whole carton of broth (we use vegetable, but it is a bit more tasty with chicken).

    It seriously tastes a little like Top Ramen if you close your eyes and are REALLY hungry. LOL!

    Let me know if you try it and what you think. ❤ Jana

  2. Pingback: Bisquick Can Bite It | My Daily Bread Crumbs

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

