Bisquick Can Bite It

In my effort to “go healthy”, I wanted to still be able to make indulgent family favorites like Biscuits and Gravy but make it as healthy as I could and still have it taste good. It’s one of the few meals my entire family asks for thirds of!

As I mentioned before, I bent the ear of my friend Tiffany, who can cook circles around me! The girl knows her stuff and I am honored to know her and to have her as a resource. I just hope she doesn’t mind my annoying texts throughout the day to find out where to buy fish or about buttermilk substitutes.

Tiffany has perfected a biscuit that is out of this world. It’s a flaky morsel of goodness, not out of a tube! Yes, it has a stick+ of butter, but the Spelt flour counteracts that with the boost of protein. At least that’s what I’m telling myself.

I present to you biscuits that make me want to throw away my Costco-sized box of Bisquick.

20120604-150545.jpg

Ingredients

5 cups flour (I used 3 cups All-Purpose and 2 cups Spelt.)

1 tbsp + 1.5 tsp Baking Powder

1 Tbsp salt

1 stick + 2 tbsp Butter

2 cups Buttermilk (sometimes a splash more, sometimes a splash less)

20120604-150553.jpg

Step 1: Mix dry ingredients together in a bowl

20120604-150601.jpg

Step 2: chop cold butter and “pinch” it into the dry mix until the butter makes about dime-sized pieces. The batter will still look pretty dry at this point.

20120604-150607.jpg

Step 3: Make a hole in the middle and pout the Buttermilk in.

20120604-150613.jpg

Step 5: mix with a fork to just wet the dry stuff. Don’t over mix it!

20120604-150620.jpg

Step 6: dump out the dough on a flour (I used spelt) covered surface. Tiffany uses a Silpat under hers, but I’m too cheap to have bought one even though I REALLY want one.

Step 7: Roll out the dough to 1.5″ thick. This is the tricky part. You want all of those beautiful buttery layers, right? Then do this EXACTLY:

1. Roll away from you. Roll Towards you. Fold in Half.

2. Roll away from you. Roll Towards you. Fold in Half.

3. Roll away from you. Roll Towards you. Fold in Half.

4. Roll away from you. Roll Towards you. Fold in Half.

No more, no less.

The dough should be about 3/4″ high.

Step 8: poke holes in the dough with a fork (I forgot this step. Oops)

20120604-150626.jpg

Step 9: Cut biscuits out with a circle cutter, or a glass. Whatever you have on hand.

20120604-150633.jpg

Step 10: Put biscuits and scraps on a baking sheet. Don’t try to re-roll the scraps. You’ll lose those to-die-for layers! I figured I’ll be drenching them in a turkey gravy tonight, so it really doesn’t matter what they look like.

20120604-150641.jpg

Step 11: Bake for 10 minute at 500 degrees.

Step 12: Do a happy dance around the kitchen when they turn out 1000xs better looking and tasting than Bisquick.

Step 13: Walk away from them until dinner time. Trust me. WALK AWAY.

I seriously can’t thank Tiffany enough for helping me. She sees helping folks with their cooking much in the same way I see helping people formulate a working budget. If you have questions or want to know more about Tiffany and her process, you can email her by clicking here, or check out her brand-spankin’-new blog!

**Update**

My family devoured this!

The Hubby: “Hon, that was excellent.”

Big: “Mommy, can I have that for lunch and breakfast too?”

Middle: Didn’t say anything, but the girl ate her entire dinner for the first time in WEEKS and even had a second helping of the biscuit.

Little: “Mmmmm… Mmmmmmm….. Mmmmm” (I gave her the turkey gravy part of the meal mixed with garden veggies)

20120605-115722.jpg

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

