Roasted Cauliflower and Asparagus Soup

Shopping from the Farmer’s Market is an adjustment. I like to go there and just buy what looks good, not thinking about how many days I need food for, what I’m making, or how I’ll cook it. I think I used to go to the Farmer’s Market just cuz it was the “in” thing to do. Everybody who was anybody shopped local and organically, right? That’s a really good way to blow a budget and throw away more food than you eat!

Well, I’ve been staring at food starting to look less than awesome in my fridge for over a week… I had 1/2 a bundle of asparagus sitting in a glass of water for 9 days. I had cauliflower shoved in the back of my veggie drawer, starting to go sideways. I had 1/2 an onion wrapped in the veggie drawer.

They were taunting me every time I opened the door… It started out harmless:

Hey Katie, you’d better find something delicious to make with me, or you just threw $2.00 in the trash…. said the cauliflower.

The Farmer was nice enough to give you a deal on me and you’re going to only eat half of what you bought?? said the asparagus

You forgot about me, didn’t you? said the onion.

Then they just got mean! Like a chorus (well, a duet… truth be told, I had forgotten about the onion), they sang:

You’ll never cook me! Just throw me away now! You’ve failed at budgeting healthy meals for your family! All of our vitamins are going out with the trash!! And you call yourself frugal….

(ok. I’ll stop. Talking veggies get the best of me every.time.)

I’m still working hard at creating dinners for my family instead of slapping them together. Unfortunately, I started this healthy eating thing mid-payperiod, so I’ve got $5 left in my Food envelope and 2 days to stretch it. I knew it was time to turn to my fridge and pantry.

The Hubby won’t touch cauliflower  says he’ll eat cauliflower soup, so I’ve taken him up on his offer! Check out my latest creation (sorry, no pictures. I didn’t really expect it to turn out as good as it did!)

Roasted Cauliflower and Asparagus Soup

Ingredients

1 head of cauliflower, cut into florets

1/2 lb asparagus (you could use more. It was just what I had taunting me on hand)

1 tbsp oil of your choice (I used veggie oil. I’m out of olive oil at the moment)

Garlic to taste

1 tsp ground nutmeg

S&P

1/2 onion, chopped

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp flour or spelt

4 cups broth (chicken or veggie would work)

1 1/2 cups canellini beans, (cooked if dry, which is what I used)

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 425*

2. Wash and drain cauliflower florets well. Toss with the oil, s&p, garlic, and nutmeg until evenly covered. Dump in a 9×13 dish.

3. Roast cauliflower in the oven for 40 minutes total, mixing every 10 minutes for even roasting. Half way through, add the asparagus and mix to coat in the existing oil and spices.

4. While the veggies are roasting, melt butter in a medium sized stock pot over medium-low heat. Add onions and cook until soft and translucent.

5. Add flour (or spelt, if you prefer) to the onions and mix until the onions are coated.

6. Add broth, roasted veggies, and beans to the stock pot and simmer on low for 10 minutes.

7. Use an immersion blender (or a regular ol’ blender if it’s what you have) to blend the soup well. Taste it. If you like the texture, you can serve it. Or if you’re like me, you’ll have to keep going…

8. Simmer for another 10 minutes (to soften the beans skin more)

9. Blend with your immersion blender until it reaches it’s desired consistency.

The beans not only add fiber and protein to this soup, they also lend a very creamy taste to it! You could easily make this dairy-free or vegetarian! I found the soup really thickened up as I let it cool a bit, so I may add some broth to it when I go to heat it to serve, which will help stretch it further and make it soupier. It’s up to you and your preferences 🙂

If you make this, I’d love to hear your feedback! I was thinking of adding some carrots to it next time, but I didn’t have them taunting me on hand. Maybe I’ll even go crazy and add parsnips! I’ve never made parsnips before….

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

