Basic Crusty Bread

20120919-202645.jpg

I made bread!! I made bread!! I made bread!!

Honestly, I don’t really care that this loaf of bread, while tasty and “crusty” as I had hoped for to dip in my lentil soup, could have used a little *something* extra, I’m just super excited that I made bread! (in case you couldn’t tell).

I was whipping up a lentil soup, but it just needed a little friend to go alongside it.

Enter, Quick Crusty Bread. It has just 5 ingredients, and since I bought a massive block-o-yeast at Costco a few weeks ago, I had everything I needed in hand!

I have to admit, I’ve been skittish about making “real” bread (I’ve made focaccia, but a baby could do that, it’s so dang easy) because I don’t want to spend all the time making it to find my water temperature was too hot when I added the yeast… or too cold when I added the yeast. Or too watery. Whatever.

So, I *knew*, when I stumbled upon a recipe that called for “lukewarm water”, I’d be ok cuz isn’t “lukewarm” a subjective rating?

Anyhoo… I made this beautiful little loaf (3, actually!), and while I feel like I should have added a touch more salt or whole cloves of garlic (next time, FOR SURE), this was the perfect “date” for my lentil soup.

Quick Crusty Bread

Recipe Adapted from sharemykitchen.com

Ingredients

3.5 cups AP Flour (I’m trying to use what I have up. I’ll move on to Whole Wheat Bread Flour next time)

12.5 oz lukewarm water

1 tbsp honey

1.25 tsp Active Dry Yeast

1 tsp salt (I’ll use 1.5 tsp next time)

What You Do

  • Dissolve Honey in the lukewarm water.
  • Sift the flour into a large bowl. Mix the yeast into the flour.
  • Make a well in the center (I forgot to do that. Oops) and pout the water/honey mixture in the middle and mix with a fork.
  • Add the salt
  • Sprinkle with flour (oops. Forgot that part too) and cover with plastic wrap (or a plastic bag, as I did, since I’ve been out of plastic wrap for months) and let rise for an hour in a warm place. (I turned my oven on low and then turned it off so it was just warm. It was perf.)
  • Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or foil and preheat your oven to 425*.
  • Once the dough has doubled in size, transfer it to a generously floured surface and cut in 3 pieces. Move the 3 pieces onto the baking sheet and briefly form into loaves. Don’t manhandle it too much or you’ll end up with tough bread!
  • Bake right away for 15-20 minutes. It will rise in the oven. No need for a second rise.
  • Lower the oven temp to 325* and bake for an additional 10 minutes.
  • Remove from the oven and marvel at your abilities and be thankful we have electricity so we don’t have to spend an entire day making bread and smoking our own meats! (sorry, I just read a little bit of Little House on the Prairie to Big… )

And there you have it. Crusty Bread.

Now, I need to find a recipe for sandwich bread that calls for “lukewarm water”….

3 thoughts on “Basic Crusty Bread

  1. Pingback: Plant-Based Menu #2 | My Daily Bread Crumbs

  2. Pingback: Falafel, Tabouleh, and Pita, oh my! | My Daily Bread Crumbs

  3. Pingback: Lentil Soup | My Daily Bread Crumbs

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

