Falafel, Tabouleh, and Pita, oh my!

Apparently, I’ve been missing something, whilst eating a boatload of meat… I’ve done “Italian” night, “Mexican” night, and even “Chinese” night, but never “Arab” night… Until recently.

I’ve wanted to make tabbouleh for a really long time, but the Hubby would resist. Too Green. Too Cous-Cousy. Too Weird.

Well, since being given the green light for plant-based eating, he is obviously going to have to expand his tastebuds, so I figured, why not?

From there, I added the falafel and pita bread for a full meal. And boy, was it a full meal!

We also had the leftovers cold for a picnic lunch! Though the Falafel recipe called for the lettuce on it, I used some of the tabbouleh as my *crunch*. DELISH. Even The Hubby, who has hated cucumbers as if they’d run over his dog, said “that was good!”

For an extra protein punch, I found a recipe that used  quinoa (keen-wah, if you’ve never heard of it) instead of bulgar.

20120923-195820.jpg

Quinoa Tabouleh Salad

Original Recipe from Rx4foodies

2 1/2 large bunches flat leaf parsley, stems removed, finely chopped
3 roma tomatoes, seeded, and cut into 1/4-inch dices
3″ inches small English cucumber, cut into 1/4-inch dices
1/2 small white onion, finely diced
1/4 cup quinoa, cooked
3 tablespoons lemon juice
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Salt, to taste

In a large bowl, combine everything except for the lemon juice, oil, and salt.

In a small bowl, whisk together the lemon juice and extra virgin olive oil. Season with salt, to taste.

Toss the salad with the lemon vinaigrette.

Serve with falafels, hummus, pocket bread, and anything else you’d like.

Makes 4 servings. (Note from Katie: My measurements might have been off, but I got WAY more than 4 servings from this. We’ve eaten in for 2 meals and I still have more in the fridge… not that I’m complaining….)

20120923-195808.jpg

 Falafel

Original Recipe from Rx4Foodies

2 15-ounce cans garbanzo beans (chickpeas) (I cooked dried beans and froze a few cups for future use)
4 tablespoons whole wheat flour
6 tablespoons flat-leaf parsley, chopped
4 large garlic cloves, chopped
3 teaspoons ground cumin
3 teaspoons ground coriander
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Combine all the ingredients in a food processor and pulse until well blended. Taste the falafel mixture, and adjust seasoning to your liking. Scoop the bean mixture into a bowl and shape into 16 equal sized patties. Place on a greased baking sheet, brush each with olive oil and bake for 25, or until browned and crispy on the outside.

Serve as an appetizer, over a salad, or in a pita wrap with the lemon tahini sauce drizzled over the falafels.

Makes 16 falafels.

Calories per falafel: 35

Lemon Tahini Sauce

3 tablespoon tahini
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1/8 teaspoon salt
4 teaspoons water
1 garlic clove, mashed into a paste

In a small mixing bowl, whisk together the tahini, lemon juice, salt, water, and garlic paste. Adjust seasoning with salt and/or lemon juice.

Makes about a 1/3 cup.

Pita Bread

I was sort of on a bread making high after successfully executing my Basic Crusty Bread, so when I found a *super* easy Pita Bread recipe to go with my Falafel and Tabbouleh, I was STOKED!

I busted out my KitchenAid Mixer, (which, if you are a fan on Facebook is why I asked how you know you have a sorely underutilized kitchen appliance. I had to wash the whole dang thing before I could use it!) and Middle and I set to adding all the ingredients to the bowl.

The recipe called for kneading the dough with a bread hook for 8 minutes and to add more flour if it was sticky. So I did. I added flour until it wasn’t sticky, but elastic. Just like the recipe called for.

after 8 minutes, Middle and I set to rolling little pita balls (not a PITA, BTW). Middle even snagged a little tiny ball all for herself, which she promptly made into a Boob Pita.

20120923-195829.jpg

I stuck the pitas into the oven and waited around for the first 5 minutes “cuz that’s when the magic happens”, as the original recipe said.

Bull.

My pitas didn’t rise in the oven. They didn’t even hold their breath. They were flat, tough, bland little disks. Bummer. I guess I’m not the next Semifreddis. And this is the reason I am not sharing the recipe.

On the up side, Trader Joe’s makes a really great mini-pita that is perfect with this dinner!

2 thoughts on “Falafel, Tabouleh, and Pita, oh my!

  1. Pingback: Plant-Based Menu #3: Company’s Coming! | My Daily Bread Crumbs

  2. Pingback: Plant-Based Menu #2 | My Daily Bread Crumbs

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

