Plant-Based Eating: Week 1 Reflections

Since I was a kid, I’ve enjoyed food. I’d be the kid who ate 3 breakfasts. My family used to call me their “little truck driver”, cuz, Lawdy lawdy… could I put it away!

I have very little self-control when it comes to food, but I think it stems from the fact that, no matter how much I eat, I’m rarely *stuffed*. Try as I might, I still feel that little ache of hunger, even immediately after a big meal! While I’ve been blessed with a high metabolism, since having children, I’ve noticed a difference. I can’t eat and eat and eat and never see the consequences… (I know most people who see me think I look great, but under the clothes, *I* can tell a difference).

It’s been one week since I have put anything besides plants and whole grain in my body.

I feel great. 

On Days 1-3, I was cranky and I remember having a pretty decent headache for much of Day 3 and 4. Then things started to get better. Much better.

I no longer feel that dull ache of hunger. I no longer feel MASSIVE mood swings when my blood sugar drops. I feel more clear headed and much less overwhelmed, despite the fact that I am completely changing a large part of my daily life in how I plan, cook, and eat. I have 1 cup of coffee in the morning instead of 2 in the AM and another at naptime. (I hope to soon make the transition to warm lemon water, to aid in digestion.)

I’d say, overall, it’s been a really great week for me. I’m positive, energetic, and focused. But best of all, I’m not hungry.

2 thoughts on “Plant-Based Eating: Week 1 Reflections

    • I’ve been trying to eat whole grains for a few years now, but I was drinking upwards of 48oz of cow’s milk (which I cut a few months ago)! We basically had meat and LOTS of cheese at every meal!

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

