Veggie Tacos

I LOVE Mexican food. I love the cheesiness, the salsa-goodness, the big ol’ dollop of sour cream, the spice of the beef/chicken/turkey taco meat. I LOVE it. My willpower goes out the window if you put chips and salsa in from of me.

So, it was imperative for me to find a delicious plant-based mexi-food recipe. One that could stand it’s ground without the cheese or the sour cream. One that had enough heft to it without the spoonful of meat.

Last week’s Bean and Rice Burritos were a HUGE fail. Seriously. SO gross. Don’t waste your time, money, or hopes on this one.

But I knew there would be awesomeness in my future, so I didn’t give up.

Enter Veggie Tacos.

I had to do a couple of substitutions because of our preferences and what I had on hand. For example, I don’t buy canned beans, and the amount of frozen cooked kidney bean I had didn’t amount to a whole can, so I added a handful of white kidney beans (canellini beans) thatI had on hand from my lunch to make up for it. I EASILY could have gotten away with twice as many beans and had leftovers. The amount I made was *perfect* for the family for a dinner, though!

20121002-075109.jpg

Veggie Tacos

Recipe adapted from

-about 15 oz of kidney beans, cooked, drained and rinsed
-1 onion, diced
-1 tsp cumin
-1 tsp chili powder
-1 avocado, mashed
-Juice of half a lemon
-1/2 cup chopped cilantro
– 1 roma tomato, diced
-1 cup romaine, cut into thin strips
-Vegan Cheese – optional
-Vegan sour cream – optional
-6-8 taco shells or soft tortillas

-Saute onion until soft
-Add kidney beans and spices and stir to combine, cook for 5 minutes
-In a small bowl. combine the avocado, lemon, coriander and tomato to make your guacamole
-Heat tacos or tortillas in the oven for 5 minutes
-Layer the lettuce leaves, beans, guacamole and top with sour cream and cheese (if using) and extra cilantro (optional)

The original recipe says it makes 4 tacos, but I got 7 out of mine and the tortillas were bursting at the seams! I served the kids and The Hubby’s with a little bit of cheese, but not the vegan stuff. I’m not sure I can ever get behind vegan cheese or sour cream. I’m just not hard core enough. I’d rather omit it completely!

These were SO good, and I’m definitely calling this recipe “A Keeper”.

 

One thought on “Veggie Tacos

  1. Pingback: Plant-Based Menu #3: Company’s Coming! | My Daily Bread Crumbs

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

