Vegan Pizza

Ho-lee B-A-N-A-N-A-S.

I love pizza. My kids love pizza. That ooey gooey-ness is something I knew I’d miss. And because I knew I’d miss it, I’ve been craving it.

I was a bit leery about an uncheesed pie, and a homemade crust. There were so many little things that could have gone wrong, from the fact that the original recipe called for unbleached AP flour, but I only had whole wheat and regular ol’ AP flour, so I mixed them. I also added olives to the pizza because my kids are ga-ga for them, and if there are olives a’plenty, they probably won’t notice there isn’t cheese. And, there were two full heads of garlic. I made roasted garlic hummus last week with just one full head and my mouth was on FIRE. So two heads, I had a fire extinguisher nearby.

The results: The whole family (even picky Middle!!) had THREE helpings! There was no griping over the sun-dried tomatoes. No picking at the little green leaves of thyme. No telling me “I’m tired” at 5pm because then they wouldn’t have to eat dinner.

Bliss.

White Vegan Pizza

Recipe adapted from Sweet Beet and Green Bean

20121018-192510.jpg

Garlic Cream Sauce

  • 2 heads of garlic
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • tin foil

Pre-heat the oven to 375*. Chop the top off the garlic heads to expose the goodness inside. Rub each head with olive oil, and wrap in foil. Roast for 1 hour. Remove and let cool. TURN OFF YOUR OVEN and leave the door open so the temperature drops quickly. You’ll be letting your crust dough rise in there!

  • 1/2 c Coconut Milk
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Once the garlic is cooled (while the crust is rising), squeeze the garlic into the blender. Add the coconut milk, and salt to the garlic and blend until creamy. Small chunks of garlic aren’t a bad thing… Set aside until the crust is ready!

Crust

  • 1 1/2 tsp active yeast
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 c warm water
  • 1 c Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 c AP Flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp + 2 tbsp olive oil

Mix yeast, sugar, coriander, and water together in a small bowl and set aside until foamy (~3 min). Add salt and 2 tbsp olive oil to the bowl and stir. Slowly sift the flours into the mix, until you have a dough that is starting the pull together. (*side note* I thought mine looked WAY wet, so I added a few sprinkles of flour). Turn the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead for about a minute. If it gets sticky, add a sprinkle of flour. Be careful not to over knead!

Put another 2 tbsp olive oil in a medium sized bowl and plop the dough ball into the oil, turning to coat it. Put the bowl-o-dough in the now-turned-off oven until it doubles in size. (Mine took a little more than an hour)

Once the crust has risen, turn it out onto a lightly floured baking sheet and preheat your oven to 475*. While the oven is preheating, gently form the crust into a circle/oval/non-ball looking shape. Make sure you leave the edges turned up a bit so the creamy sauce doesn’t drip everywhere!

Toppings

  • Sundried Tomatoes (not packed in oil)
  • Fresh Thyme
  • Black Olives

While your crust is rising, stick your tomatoes in water to reconstitute. The need about an hour. If you don’t normally use sundried tomatoes, you really should try them. Soaking them in water takes away the toughness and the drying process makes them SO sweet. They really are delicious. Plus, if anyone you know has an aversion to tomatoes based on sight alone (*ahem* Middle), you can probably get them to eat these!!

Spread the creamy garlic sauce on the crust and add the toppings! Then just stick it in the oven for 10-15 minutes (Mine took 13), until the crust is browning and the sauce is bubbling and looking like it’s setting.

Cut and ENJOY.

It sounds like a ton of work, I know, but this was so amazing. I loved watching my whole family devour it! I might go for a veggie pizza next time, using red onions, broccoli, and artichoke hearts. The possibilities are ENDLESS.

What would you put on as toppings for your perfect vegan pizza?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Vegan Pizza

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

