More About My New Direction

My desire to go to Culinary School isn’t a “new” idea for me. I’ve thought about it on numerous occasions, even signing up for an information packet from some school in SF. But I voice inside of me said “you can’t do that”.

I’ve been given a passion for food. As Pastor Travis said, “The enemy can steal your joy, but he can’t steal your passion”.

My passion is from God, and not from myself. In fact, when I thought of all the things I could do if I couldn’t fail, *those* were from me. I can just imagine God looking down on me, shaking His head, and thinking “just you wait, Katie… you have NO clue what I have in store for you.”

I’m glad I didn’t just step up to the dart board and throw all willy nilly when I felt like I *should*.

Since “coming out”, I’ve had a number of people ask me what I want to do with my continued education. The best way I can describe it, is I want to teach a man to fish.

I want to sit down with someone, look at their past month’s groceries, and what’s in the fridge/freezer/pantry, ask what their goals are (eat better, staying in a budget better, get out of a rut, etc…) and working side-by-side with them, from the menu planning stage (always important), to the grocery shopping, to the preparation of the meals. I’m not interested in being someone’s Personal Chef. I’m interested in teaching them how to take better care of themselves and their families, even if that simply means learning how to live within a food budget and still create healthy, filling, and delicious meals!

God’s timing is ALWAYS perfect, so I am working the next few months to get my ducks in a row, from starting to apply for Grants/Scholarships (no loans for this girl!), to securing childcare for my girls if I am in day classes. The new schedule comes out on November 7th, and registration comes soon thereafter. I’m thankful to have a few months to take care of business before jumping in!

I would appreciate prayers of clarity and discernment as I continue to listen to God’s will for me, my future, and my family.

5 thoughts on “More About My New Direction

  1. I LOVE this idea.. After being inspired by so many business and leadership books, starting a new venture is an exciting thing, and having a plan to FOCUS will get you there!!!!

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

