Oatmeal Chocolate(less) Chip Cookies

I’ve been promising my family I’d tickle their sweet tooths (sweet teeths?) with some delectable vegan treats, but I always ran out of money to make most of the recipes I had been finding. Or, honestly, I would rather put the effort in for, oh, I don’t know… say, DINNER, rather than have a gazillion step, and multi-ingrediented (It’s a word, I swear) dessert , that I wasn’t even sure we would enjoy!

Then it happened. I found a recipe that didn’t have any weird stuff in it. I didn’t need to make an extra trip to the store! YEE HAW! I’m IN! Everything I needed was already in my possession. Happy Katie.

Oatmeal Chocolate(less) Chip Cookies

Adapted from tastykitchen.com
  • ¼ cups Vegan Margarine
  • ⅓ cups Brown Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons Unsweetened Applesauce
  • ½ cups Quick Oats
  • ⅓ cups Whole Wheat Flour
  • ½ teaspoons Baking Soda
  • ¼ teaspoons Sea Salt
  • ⅓ cups Mini Non-dairy Chocolate Chips
  • 3 Tablespoons Flax Seeds

20121103-205235.jpg

Step 1. Preheat your oven to 350 and artfully arrange your ingredients. Take a picture. No? Just me? Ok… Carry on to Step 2 then…

20121103-205226.jpg

Step 2: In a medium bowl, cream your Vegan Butter, Brown Sugar, and Applesauce. I used my electric mixer on the second to lowest setting and mixed until the butter was pretty evenly distributed.

20121103-205220.jpg20121103-205213.jpg

Step 3 (optional): If you are like me and don’t have the “quick oats” called for in the recipe, take your Old Fashioned oats and pulse them a few times in your food processor. Just don’t pulverize them. If you come out with less than 1/2 a cup, just add a few more of the whole oats in to make up the difference. They add a great chewy texture!

20121103-205205.jpg

Step 4: Add the oats, salt, baking soda, and flour to the butter mixture and blend until evenly moist. I used the lowest setting on my mixer. Fold in the chocolate(less) chips and flax seeds. The original recipe didn’t call for flax seeds, but I use them in SO many things! I like the little crunch they give,

***Awesome Nutritional Factoid Alert!! Brought to you by Wikipedia***

Flax seeds contain high levels of dietary fiber as well as lignans (Lignans are capable of binding to estrogen receptors and interfering with the cancer-promoting effects of estrogen on breast tissue. Lignans such as podophyllotoxin are therefore being studied for their possible effects on breast, prostate and colon cancer. Lignans are also good antioxidants scavenging free radicals that may play a role in some diseases), an abundance of micronutrients and omega-3 fatty acids. BOOM goes the dynamite.

20121103-205156.jpg

Step 5: On lined baking sheets (I’m too cheap to buy parchment paper, even though many recipes I use suggest it. I’m a foil-gal.), roll 1/2 inch balls. These suckers will spread so don’t crowd them!

Step 6: Bake for 7-8 minutes. If you use multiple sheets, just make sure you rotate them mid-way through the baking process. I rotated after 3 minutes, and then baked an additional 4 minutes.

20121103-205148.jpg

Step 7: Let cool for a spell on the baking sheets, then use a spatula to gently move them to a cooling rack.

Step 8: Eat and double check the package of the chocolate(less) chip to make sure they are *actually* chocolate(less) chips because they are so melty and amazing, there is NO possible way they are vegan!

Step 9: Eat another. No one is looking. Go ahead.

Step 10: Hide the rest from your family. Share the love.

***REVIEW***

Re-read steps 8-10.

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

