Budget Meal #1: Fajita Burritos

  • I have $35 to feed our family of 5 for the next 8 days, so I’m about to get creative!

Check out this post to see my inventory list.

Day 1 needs to be strictly from my inventory list because I only shop on Wednesdays (double ad days at Sprouts). Something jumped out at me immediately and is a quick and easy go-to meal. This makes great leftovers, or even a good start to the day! Plus, its quick to make, so you can whip up a lunch in a New York Minute.

Kidney Bean Fajitas

This is so easy, and is usually made from things I have on hand on a regular basis

1 red bell, cut in strips

1 green bell, cut in strips

1/2 large yellow onion, cut in strips

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 can of kidney beans (or about 2 cups)

1 tsp Cumin

Salt, to taste

Shredded cheese, sour cream, guacamole, lettuce, salsa(optional)

  • Saute the bell peppers, onion, and garlic, until just starting to soften and caramelize.
  • Add kidney beans and spices and cook until heated through. The beans start to fall apart, which I love.
  • Serve with optional garnishes, or whatever you have on hand!

For the kids, I like to rip up a tortilla and put the mixture in a bowl, like a burrito bowl. Otherwise, they make a serious mess.

If you like things spicier, you can also add chili powder, but I find my kids really don’t like it.

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)

