Putting Our Hearts on The Line

This past week, the California Highway Patrol lost a brother when Officer Kenyon Youngstrom, 37 and father of 4,  was shot and killed. While there are posts abound about the tragedy (notably, one is from the Hubby. Read his here), this post is from the other side of the badge.

As a Christian, I believe God has a Master Plan for me. When I am following that Master Plan, I am “being called” by God to fulfill His will. I was called to marry the Hubby. I was called to become a mother. I was called to share my faith on this blog. I was calledto help people get out of debt. You can tell it’s a calling when you have such peace in your heart that it’s the right thing to do, even if it’s a little out of your comfort zone. God doesn’t want you to be complacent. He wants you to grow, to share His wisdom and power, and to be challenged. Matthew 4:18-22 says

18One day as Jesus was walking along the shore of the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers—Simon, also called Peter, and Andrew—throwing a net into the water, for they fished for a living. 19Jesus called out to them, “Come, follow me, and I will show you how to fish for people!” 20And they left their nets at once and followed him.

21A little farther up the shore he saw two other brothers, James and John, sitting in a boat with their father, Zebedee, repairing their nets. And he called them to come, too. 22They immediately followed him, leaving the boat and their father behind.

He called to them. Do you think it was easy for them to abandon their “safety nets”? to leave their families? to follow a Man whom they had never seen or spoken to before? I’d venture to say it was the calling that brought peace to their hearts and allowed them to take the walk with Jesus, that would forever change their lives.

So, I say again, I was called to love a man that is sworn to protect not just me and my family, but you and yours. I was NOT called to be in his shoes, just to love him and honor him in his calling.

It’s often said that civil servants put their lives on the line every day they go to work. I whole heartedly agree with that statement because, though I don’t know the goings on in a man’s head, I can guess that Officer Youngstrom did not think a dead deer call would lead to his own End of Watch. I honor and thank him, and every other servant out there, for following his calling. Ofc. Kenyon Youngstrom was active in his church and loved the Lord. The Hubby has the privilege of holding his hand and praying for him as he was loaded into the ambulance. While cuddling last night, Big asked the Hubby “Daddy, did you see God take him to heaven?”. And it struck me, that God gave our daughters the calling to be civil servant children, forever impacted and learning from loss and triumph.

But this post is to honor and thank those families out there who love someone in service. Your loved ones may put their lives on the line, but we put our hearts on the line. I thank you for supporting and encouraging those following their calling, even if it isn’t yours and even if it’s scary and uncomfortable at times. It’s God’s will for us, just as it is for them. Humbly, I thank you.

To donate to Officer Youngstrom’s family, please visit this link for details and account information. At that link, there is also information about donating for the financial needs of families of future fallen officers and firefighters, because, unfortunately, the death doesn’t end with Officer Youngstrom.

Thanks for reading.

 

11 thoughts on “Putting Our Hearts on The Line

  1. I happened to stumble across this blog today, married to a Missouri State Trooper, and wow…. definitely going to be following your blog.

  2. Thanks your for this beautiful post and for reminding me that what we are called to do is not always easy. Love your perspective on being married to a LEOW and how we put our hearts on the line during every shift. Sending prayers to you and MC today as you say goodbye to this hero.

  3. This has been so very heartbreaking. So many tears I have cried for the Youngstrom family whom I have never met. MC is blessed to have you supporting him and I hope his emotions can heal from the trauma of that day. We may brush shoulders with each other Thursday as the bay are LEO community honors their fallen brother.

  4. I’ve been thinking about your family and the families of other law enforcement officers since this happened. I am so thankful we have civil servants who are willing to put their lives on the line for us every day, and grateful for the spouses who allow them to do so and support them.

  5. Somedays it’s a blessing, everyday I am so proud of my brave husband, and somedays I am nothing short of wholly ticked off when his schedule abruptly changes and leaves me holding the ball (again), or when he spends his day off answering texts and calls about some case the night before, or when between gun cleaning and SWAT lesson plans and going in early to work-out with the guys I barely get an “Is there anything to eat?” I love your perspective, thank you for sharing it. This is my calling, and it’s good to be reminded! Everyday it’s a blessing.

  6. Pingback: The Wife’s Perspective | Motor Cop

  7. You seriously have me in tears right now. Not only about our fallen Officer, but listening to God’s calling. I am having a hard time hearing God right now, and I am not sure how to fix it. My family and I have been going through some really tough times over the past couple of years. Every time it starts to get better, something else goes wrong. Right now, we are facing being evicted from our house because we can’t come up with all of the rent money. I am trying so hard to listen to Him, but it is constantly being overshadowed by guilt, grief, stress, and exhaustion.

    • Father, you know what is in our hearts. Please bring guidance, hope, and peace in our times of struggle. Father, make your presence known, in ways that are obvious. Let us know it is Your will working in our lives and find comfort in the journey, however difficult it may be at the time. Let us rejoice in our victories and be faithful in our pits. Lord, hear our prayers. Amen.

Have an opinion? Of course you do! Why not share is here? All bloggers love to get a little comment love! :)